London 2016 Mayoral Candidates: The List So Far

Photo by Umbreen Hafeez

Photo by Umbreen Hafeez

Who is going to be the next mayor of London once Boris Johnson vacates City Hall for the constituency of Uxbridge and South Ruislip?

The Conservatives announced their shortlist over the weekend:

  • Zac Goldsmith, MP for Richmond Park and North Kingston
  • Andrew Boff, London Assembly Member
  • Syed Kamall, MEP
  • Stephen Greenhalgh, Deputy mayor for crime and policing

Former footballer Sol Campbell, businessman Ivan Massow and Westminster City Council’s Philippa Roe failed to make it to the shortlist. The all-male list has been criticised by Labour candidate and current favourite Tessa Jowell:

“It is extraordinary that Tory central office believe that they have no women who are fit even to be considered to be their candidate for mayor of London.

“London is a modern, open city built on diversity, it’s time the Conservatives caught up.”

Goldsmith has been widely considered to be the party’s front-runner in the Mayoral race, and like Boris Johnson, has campaigned against the expansion of Heathrow expansion. Read more here.

Greenhalgh recently spoke out in support of Johnson’s ill-fated purchase of three water cannon, the use of  which permission was refused by home secretary Theresa May. The former leader of Hammersmith and Fulham council has promised cuts to tube fares across the board by 3% each year he is Mayor.

Andrew Boff is the leader of the London Assembly Conservatives, and as such has a lot of experience of the inner workings of City Hall. He’s previously spoken out on the need to increase London’s housing supply. Read more here.

London MEP Syed Kamall has backed proposals for a new airport, paid for by private investment and ‘built where they want it’. Read more on Kamall from the Guardian’s Dave Hill.

The six Labour Mayoral candidates are:

  • Tessa Jowell, former MP for Dulwich East and Minister for London
  • Diane Abbott, MP for Hackney
  • Gareth Thomas, MP for Harrow
  • Sadiq Khan, MP for Tooting and Shadow Minister for London
  • Christian Wolmar, journalist
  • David Lammy, MP for Tottenham

The Green candidates are expected to be announced on 2 September, but those in the running are here. You can read more about individual candidates from Dave Hill:

  • Sian Berry, Green councillor for Camden council
  • Tom Chance, spokesperson for housing
  • Caroline Russell, spokesperson for local transport
  • Jonathan Bartley, spokesperson for work and pensions
  • Benali Hamdache, equalities spokesperson
  • Rashid Nix, housing activist and youth mentor

The Liberal Democrat candidates are:

  • Duwayne Brooks, former Lewisham councillor
  • Teena Lashmore, campaigner for social housing and green transport
  • Brian Haley, former LibDem Mayoral candidate
  • Caroline Pidgeon, Leader of the Liberal Democrats on the London Assembly
  • Marisha Ray, crime fighting chief
    Paul Reynolds, government reform and anti-poverty specialist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: